top of page
Writer's pictureToxicc

So you asked a question on the reddit? Here's you're answers:

Hey welcome back <3


So what is today about?

So this post is very much coming from the point of view of being linked to someone asking something frankly basic knolage on the r/actualgyaru reddit since I see the same few things asked there constantly and I think I speak for more people on there that it's tiering replying to the same thing 2993848 times, but at the heart of it all this is but the humble "can I be gal if" or gal basics post that's not unique or creative at all but if there's the market yk. Anyway let's get started.


Help how do I be gal I know nothing?

DO. YOUR. RESERCH. Omg negl to yall Im starting this off with the one that pisses me off the most, like I love the fact you wana be gal but for the love of the Gods do your own reserch dont just come to the subreddit and expect us to tell you everything coz youre too lazy to learn on your own. There's so many good resources out there like mag scans (thank you gal revo), Pinterest, Instagram, tumblr like use them for makeup and co ord inspo just whatever you do never trust tiktok. Also on that note:


I wanna be gal but my parents are srict meaning I can't do anything gal like how do I be gal rn?

You can't. Sorry I know its blunt but thats just life if you can't do 99% of what it takes to be gal (heck even 50%) its just something you can't do rn and thats ok sometimes we just have to be an admirer and appreciater first before we get to a spot where we can do gal I know thats how it went for me and like 90% of gals I know just use this time to learn all you can. With those out the way we can get started on the can I's and general q's.


Can I be gyaru as a teen?

Duh, most the og models in egg were like around 15-16, kogals (the age not the none substyle) created many of the biggest trends in gal as teen girls did in all fashion, now the only real disscussion here is around wether teens should do agejo due to it being rooted in sex work but thats a whole other post.


Can I do gal if Im not Japanese?

Yes, gal has nothing to do with your skin colour or nationality, Black diamond littrelly wanted to spread gal to the whole world lol.


Do gyaru have to drink/do drugs/be delinquents?

No.... wait am I exoected to write more? ok, so yes gal is very nightlifey (kinda) and was a rebelion but that dosent mean all gals did drugs or got in legal trouble. As for drinking the whole anti drinking thing is a recent notion and with Japan having a huge alcohol problem (that I wont get into here) you could argue for it but realistically that whole argument is just "well drinking is normelized", anyway partake in it or not thats up to you but take it from me don't overdo it trust.


Do I have to wear revealing clothing?

Yes but no, gal is a more "provocetive" fashion yes esspecially within like agejo and tsu but that dosent men more "safe" styles like amekaji or hime(kaji) exist where you could totally make them modest with practice, not to mention you can always make fashion work around you and I've seen some amazing muslim gals pull off the most modestly cunty ass coords. It's all about how you style your clothes and knowing the basics but also accepting that maybe some styles just wont fit your prefrence and that making gal modest is one bitch of a task.


Do I have to tan?

Well that depends, there are styles that deffinetly require a tan like kuro (littrelly named after being tan) and (ya)mamba but there is also styles that dont require a tan like hime(kaji) and agejo, that being said you can still do the shiro styles with a tan and if you do tan obviously dont over tan.


Do I have to be gal 24/7?

Yes but no it really depends, obviously dont wear your makeup on 24/7 or to sleeep please it's not good for you, obvi also you don't need to wear your make everyday (I don't wear mine out outside of trips/ going out) or just to go to the shops but also gal is a lifestyle so if you're serious about being gal you will end up being gal in one way or another 24/7.


Where can I get brand/clothes?

Firstly good luck lmao, second it's all second hand now, the easiest way but also the scalped way is Depop/vinted/any western site, the harder and less scaped way is yahoo jp auction/ mercari jp through a proxy service such as buyee but the shipping can add up so do watch out. As for non brand clothes well a lot of you might not like me saying this but the easiest most accessible way is shein really just look up mostly romwe stuff see what fits the vibe see what keywords fit with your substyle. Otherwise there is also thrifting which takes way more effort and skill as you will most likley have to diy stuff. Either way look at inspo from magazines and break down what makes the pieces the pieces (I'll make a whole post on this if yall want) and find ones that match with that or pieces that when put together can give off the same vibe.


Can I be gal without wearing makeup?

No.


What substyle would suit me?

Idk do your reserch and see what one you like and then boom that's the one that would suit you, and if you are the target demographic of the peroson sent this link in the comments of a post in r/actualgyaru then theres littrelly a pinned fun quiz there but here it is again ig.... man papillon didn't die for this.


Contact lenses general

The most trusted place to get contacts for as long as I can remember (mind you this is a good 10 plus years now) is Pinkyparadise you'll often see people complain about the price but in reliety the amount of sales pinky does is insane there is almost always a sale going on so, on the off chance there isn't one many big gals like Sei have discount codes you can use. Now you also wanna get enlarging contacts with the minumum 14mm diameter but before getting lenses I would highly advise having a lense fitting/ test appointment with your eye doctor as not everyone can wear them and if you have a eyeglasses perscription youll need to get your lense pescription. And coz this comes up also no you don't neccerly need lenses to do gal but it really does inhance the look.


Any gyarusa near me?

Most likley no. Plus youre probably better off searching on instagram for one. There is a boat load of discord servers tho.



That all said,

This post will be getting periodic updates as time goes on and I see more common questions so look forward to it and in the meantime feel free to link it as a resource to people <3


Question for next post: Do you have any gal 101 question you see a lot?


Polish word of the day: Pytanie

Meaning question lol it's on theme lol.

Anyway as always:

  Do zobaczenja <3

295 views

Comments


bottom of page